Knitting Scandinavian Slippers and Socks

Posted: March 23, 2012 in crafts
Tags: , , , , , ,

I used my own patterns for the socks .by Laura Farson is an 80 page book with color illustrations , charts , and projects for those who love to knit .I bought it not long ago because of the picture of a pair of slippers on page 56 . They looked so cute .   The book is a little expensive , but  I got it anyway .

I skipped the sock chapter of the book ( I have my own patterns I’m happy with ) and started to choose yarns for slippers . First , I was thinking to use one of the motifs suggested in the book , but realized that they are all too time consuming . So , I just used one color but kept the other steps true to the pattern given for a basic slipper on page 24 . I also used a thicker yarn .

The most trouble I had with the first slipper is when I got to a short row step . The book didn’t explain it clear enough how to do it , and I almost gave up on the whole thing . After a few attempts , I finally figured it out . The second slipper was easier to do .

If I had to rate this book , I would give it 4 stars out of 5 because it’s a little hard to understand in a few places , but once I tried to knit a pair of slippers from this book , I got addicted . It’s fun , doesn’t take more than a few hours to complete , and a pleasure to give away or wear it yourself .

Leave a comment